“Guilt pangs”

strip365

This week’s seventh anniversary episode is a real milestone for me. It’s probably no surprise by now that I appreciate a well-paced adventure comic, and the more I work on this Watusi adventure strip, the more I am awed by the greats of the early days of the genre and what they accomplished. Gottredson, Segar, Hamlin and others mixed comedy and action in a way that made readers want to read the next strip … and made it look easier than it is to do, too!

This episode is the 365th Watusi strip, which means that if had been a daily adventure strip (which is how I’ve paced it, especially early on) all of the stories to date would have taken place in its first year: the adventure in Isla Esmerelda, the time travel story with W-Tusi25, Mystery Mutt & Teebo, the recent Victorian Watusi diversion, the Motilizing Reclivator, the Ch-ch-chattering skull, Sourpuss, the Dance Party, and (whew!) the Purloined Pocketwatch!

Hope you’ll stick around for the “second” year of adventure! Up next, more reactions to Watusi’s passing …

9 Comments to ““Guilt pangs””

  1. Congrats on your 365th! Looking back at your recap there brings back some fine Watusi memories…Isla Esmerelda is definitely a favorite! The Motilizing Reclivator!! I’d forgotten about that one. And of course I love the Victorian version!

    Like

    • Isla Esmerelda is still my favorite, too (I’ll top it some day), but I’m glad to hear that later strips measure up to it in your estimation!

      Like

  2. I guess I have mixed feelings about another year of adventure with a dead Watusi.

    Like

  3. Anxious to see what’s next! I choose to believe that Watusi is in the vapors somewhere, timing a grand re-entrance for best effect! Meantime I’ll revisit some of the oldies but goodies…

    Like

  4. Congratulations! It takes a lot of persistence and patience to keep any project going. And Watusi only has become more engaging.

    Like

    • Thank you so much. I think my writing has gotten stronger over the duration of the strip’s run, and I’m looking forward to what’s ahead!

      Like

  5. Congratulations on both fronts, Dale! I can’t believe it’s been seven years because it certainly doesn’t feel like it! I guess time really does fly when you’re having fun with Watusi! Looking forward to the next 365 strips and the next 365 strips after that!

    Since Harvey proves he can rock a beard, I’m hoping to see Mitchell with a beard as well in the far flung future!

    Like

So... what'd you think?

